Rapyd UK: Payment Processing Fees and Feature Breakdown

Updated August 2026

Compare Card Processing Rates & Save
Trusted by 10,000+ UK businesses

Rapyd

Rapyd is a global fintech platform founded in 2016 that offers payment processing, a payment gateway, pay-out tools and embedded finance products to businesses operating across multiple countries. In the UK, it targets online merchants, marketplaces and software platforms that need to accept payments in more than 100 currencies and pay out funds to suppliers or contractors worldwide. Transaction fees are custom-quoted rather than published on a standard rate card, so you will need to contact Rapyd directly or use a comparison service to get a firm figure. Rapyd Financial Network Ltd is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority as an Electronic Money Institution, giving UK merchants a regulated route for holding and moving funds. It is not a good fit for small high-street retailers wanting a simple card terminal and a fixed monthly fee.

Key Facts: Rapyd UK

DetailInformation
Founded2016 (Tel Aviv, Israel; UK operations via London office)
FCA registrationRapyd Financial Network Ltd, authorised as an Electronic Money Institution (EMI) by the FCA
Typical transaction feeCustom-quoted; indicative online card rates typically start around 2.9% + £0.20 per transaction for standard UK Visa and Mastercard, with volume discounts available
Contract lengthNo standard published minimum term; terms vary by product and negotiated agreement
Settlement speedTypically one to three business days for UK merchants; faster settlement available on some plans

Who Is This Page For?

This page is for UK businesses evaluating Rapyd as a payment processing or pay-out provider. It covers what Rapyd does, how its fees work, how it compares to Stripe and Adyen, and whether it suits your business type. It is most useful for online marketplaces, SaaS platforms, digital goods sellers and international ecommerce businesses. If you are a sole trader or bricks-and-mortar retailer looking for a card machine, this page will confirm quickly that Rapyd is not the right fit.

Who Is Rapyd For?

Rapyd is built for businesses that operate across borders and need more than a single-country payment solution. Online marketplaces, SaaS platforms, digital goods sellers and international ecommerce businesses are the clearest fit. If your customers pay in multiple currencies and you also need to pay out to freelancers or suppliers in different countries, Rapyd's combined collect-and-disburse model can genuinely reduce complexity.

UK businesses that process high monthly volumes and have developer resource to work with an API-first platform will get the most from Rapyd. It is not designed for plug-and-play simplicity. Setting up a Rapyd integration typically requires technical work, and the pricing conversations happen at the sales stage rather than on a self-serve sign-up page.

Sole traders, micro-businesses and bricks-and-mortar retailers should look elsewhere. Rapyd has no card terminal product for UK in-person payments, and its pricing structure is not suited to businesses turning over less than roughly £50,000 a year in card transactions.

What Does Rapyd Do?

Rapyd is a payment infrastructure platform that lets businesses collect money from customers, hold funds in multiple currencies and pay out to recipients in over 190 countries, all from a single API. It supports cards, bank transfers, digital wallets and local payment methods such as iDEAL, Bancontact and SEPA transfers. Beyond payment acceptance, Rapyd offers embedded finance tools including card issuing, meaning businesses can create branded virtual or physical cards for their own customers under Rapyd's FCA Electronic Money Institution licence. It is sometimes described as a "fintech-as-a-service" platform, which reflects the breadth of financial infrastructure it can provide to platforms building financial products.

Rapyd Features

  • Global payment acceptance: Rapyd supports card payments, bank transfers, digital wallets and local payment methods across more than 100 countries, including popular European methods such as iDEAL, Bancontact and SEPA bank transfers.
  • Payment gateway: The Rapyd payment gateway integrates via REST API or hosted checkout, supporting 3D Secure authentication in line with UK Strong Customer Authentication rules.
  • Mass pay-outs: Rapyd lets you send funds to bank accounts, wallets and cards in over 190 countries. This is useful for platforms paying contractors, affiliates or marketplace sellers.
  • Multi-currency accounts: You can hold balances in multiple currencies within the Rapyd Wallet, reducing conversion costs when collecting and paying out in the same currency.
  • Embedded finance tools: Rapyd offers issuing capabilities, meaning businesses can create branded virtual or physical cards for their own customers or employees under Rapyd's EMI licence.
  • Fraud and compliance tools: Built-in transaction monitoring, KYC verification and AML screening are included, which matters for platforms onboarding large numbers of sub-merchants or end users.
  • Sandbox environment: Developers get full access to a test environment before going live, with detailed API documentation covering all payment flows.
  • Reporting and reconciliation: A centralised dashboard shows transactions across all markets, currencies and payment methods, which simplifies reconciliation for multi-market businesses.

Rapyd Fees and Pricing

Rapyd does not publish a standard rate card for UK merchants. Pricing is negotiated individually based on your monthly processing volume, the countries you trade in and the payment methods you need. This is common among enterprise-focused payment platforms, but it makes direct comparison harder without requesting a quote.

Based on publicly available information and industry benchmarks as of August 2026, indicative rates for standard UK online card transactions typically start around 2.9% plus £0.20 per transaction for lower-volume merchants. Businesses processing above £100,000 a month in card volume can typically negotiate rates below 1.5% per transaction on UK and European personal Visa and Mastercard cards. Non-European card transactions and premium card types attract higher rates.

There is no publicly stated monthly platform fee for basic gateway access, though enterprise contracts may carry minimum monthly commitments. Currency conversion carries a margin on top of the mid-market rate, which you should clarify before signing. Pay-out fees vary by destination country and payment method. Always ask for a full breakdown of all fees including foreign exchange margins, refund fees and chargeback handling charges before agreeing a contract.

Fee TypeIndicative Rate (August 2026)
UK/European personal Visa and Mastercard (online)From approx. 1.5%–2.9% + £0.20 per transaction (volume dependent)
Non-European cardsHigher; typically 3.0%–3.5% + fixed fee; confirm with Rapyd directly
SEPA bank transfer acceptanceTypically lower than card rates; quote required
Pay-out to UK bank accountVariable by method; confirm with Rapyd directly
Currency conversionMargin above mid-market rate; percentage not publicly stated
ChargebacksFee per chargeback; not publicly stated

Rapyd Monthly Transaction Volume

Rapyd does not publish official monthly transaction volume figures publicly. Based on information available at the time of Rapyd's $300 million funding round in August 2021, the company was processing billions of dollars annually across its global network. By 2026 that figure has grown substantially as Rapyd expanded its merchant base in Europe, Asia-Pacific and Latin America. For UK businesses assessing whether Rapyd has sufficient scale and liquidity to support their operations, the FCA authorisation as an Electronic Money Institution and the depth of the company's investor backing are the more relevant indicators of financial stability than unpublished volume metrics.

Rapyd in Europe

Rapyd operates across Europe through Rapyd Financial Network Ltd, its FCA-authorised UK entity, and through Rapyd Europe hf, its Iceland-based entity regulated under European Economic Area rules. This dual structure means Rapyd can serve merchants in the UK and across EU member states from two regulated entities. For UK merchants trading with European customers, Rapyd supports SEPA bank transfers, iDEAL in the Netherlands, Bancontact in Belgium, and card payments across all major European markets. European card transactions on Visa and Mastercard personal cards attract lower interchange rates than non-European cards, which should be reflected in any negotiated rate you receive.

Rapyd vs Stripe: A Quick Comparison

Stripe is the most common alternative UK businesses consider alongside Rapyd. Stripe publishes its pricing clearly: 1.5% plus 20p per transaction for standard European cards, rising to 2.5% plus 20p for non-European cards, with no monthly fee on its standard plan. Rapyd's rates are custom-quoted, which makes direct comparison difficult until you have a specific offer from both providers.

FeatureRapydStripe
Published pricingNo — custom quote requiredYes — 1.5% + 20p (EU cards) on standard plan
Global pay-outs190+ countries nativelyAvailable via Stripe Connect; setup more complex
Local payment methodsStrong global coverage including emerging marketsStrong European and North American coverage
In-person card terminals (UK)Not offeredStripe Terminal available
Embedded finance/card issuingIncluded under Rapyd EMI licenceAvailable via Stripe Issuing
Best forMulti-market platforms with pay-out needsUK/EU online businesses wanting transparent pricing

For most UK-focused online businesses, Stripe's transparent pricing and extensive documentation make it the simpler starting point. Rapyd's advantage shows most clearly when you need to collect payments and distribute funds across a wide range of international markets from a single platform. Read our full Rapyd vs Stripe comparison for a deeper breakdown.

Rapyd Competitors: Which Providers Are Comparable for Global Pay-outs?

Rapyd's closest competitors for global payment acceptance and pay-out infrastructure are Adyen, Checkout.com, Nuvei and Stripe Connect. Each takes a different approach to pricing and merchant onboarding.

  • Adyen: Enterprise-grade platform with published interchange-plus pricing. Strong in Europe and North America. Requires significant monthly volume to access the best rates. Read our Adyen UK review.
  • Checkout.com: Custom-quoted pricing, similar to Rapyd. Strong in the Middle East and emerging markets. Better-documented support channels than Rapyd for mid-market merchants. See our Checkout.com review.
  • Nuvei: Focused on high-risk and regulated sectors alongside mainstream ecommerce. Custom pricing. Broader pay-in method coverage in some markets than Rapyd. See our Nuvei review.
  • Stripe Connect: Better documented and faster to integrate than Rapyd for marketplace pay-out use cases. Published pricing for standard transactions. Less coverage in some emerging markets.
  • Corefy: Payment orchestration platform that can route transactions across multiple acquirers. Different model to Rapyd — see our Corefy review for details.

If you are comparing these providers on fee structures, Compare Card Fees can gather quotes from multiple platforms simultaneously so you see actual rates side by side rather than relying on indicative benchmarks.

Rapyd Reviews: What UK Merchants Say

Rapyd's Trustpilot profile shows a mixed picture as of August 2026. Positive reviews most commonly cite the breadth of payment methods available and the quality of the API documentation. Developers building multi-market integrations tend to rate the sandbox and technical reference material highly. Critical reviews on both Trustpilot and G2 most often mention slow response times from customer support and a demanding onboarding and KYC process. Several reviewers note that issues escalate slowly when a payment problem needs urgent resolution. This is a genuine concern for businesses that depend on fast settlement and have limited internal resource to manage provider relationships.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Wide global coverage: Accept and pay out in over 100 currencies, with local payment methods in markets where card penetration is low.
  • FCA-authorised EMI: Rapyd Financial Network Ltd holds a UK Electronic Money Institution licence, giving merchants a regulated counterparty for UK operations.
  • Collect and pay out from one platform: Managing inbound payments and outbound disbursements through a single API reduces the need for multiple provider relationships.
  • Embedded finance capability: The ability to issue branded cards and create wallets for end users is genuinely useful for fintech startups and marketplaces building financial products into their platform.
  • Strong API documentation: Developers report detailed reference material and a functional sandbox, which reduces integration time compared with some enterprise payment platforms.

Cons

  • No published pricing: The absence of a standard rate card means you cannot benchmark Rapyd's fees without going through a sales process. This creates friction for smaller businesses evaluating their options quickly.
  • Not suitable for in-person payments: Rapyd offers no card terminal or point-of-sale product for UK merchants. If you take face-to-face card payments, you will need a separate provider.
  • Complex onboarding for smaller businesses: Rapyd's onboarding and KYC process can take longer than self-serve providers like Stripe or Square. Businesses without dedicated compliance resource may find this demanding.
  • Customer support limitations: User reviews on Trustpilot and G2 cite inconsistent support response times, particularly for businesses on lower-volume accounts. This is a real concern if you experience a payment issue that needs fast resolution.
  • Currency conversion margin not disclosed publicly: The FX markup above the mid-market rate is not stated on Rapyd's website. For businesses with high cross-currency volumes, this cost can be material and deserves close scrutiny during contract negotiations.

Is Rapyd Right for Your Business?

Rapyd makes most sense for UK businesses that are genuinely international. If you collect payments from customers in South-East Asia, Latin America or the Middle East alongside Europe, and you also need to distribute funds back to partners or sellers in those regions, Rapyd's platform can handle that in a way that fewer rivals match at scale. A marketplace paying out to 50 sellers across 20 countries every month is the kind of business Rapyd is built around.

For straightforward UK ecommerce, Rapyd is unlikely to be the most cost-effective or the simplest option. Providers like Stripe, Adyen or Opayo offer more transparent pricing, faster self-serve onboarding and better-documented support paths for businesses that do not need Rapyd's global breadth. The lack of published fees also means you could spend time in a sales process only to find the rates are not competitive for your volume.

If you are considering Rapyd alongside other providers, Compare Card Fees is a free, independent advisory service that has helped UK businesses find better card payment deals since 2012. The team can help you get comparable quotes from Rapyd and its competitors, read the fine print on FX margins and settlement terms, and avoid contracts with hidden costs. There is no fee and no obligation to proceed with any provider.

How Compare Card Fees Can Help

Compare Card Fees is a free, independent advisory service that has helped UK businesses find better card payment deals since 2012. If you are evaluating Rapyd for your business, our team can gather comparable quotes from multiple providers, check the FX margin terms, and flag any contract clauses worth negotiating before you sign. Use our merchant services comparison tool or find out how the process works to get started.

Key Takeaways

  • Rapyd is an FCA-authorised Electronic Money Institution offering payment processing and global pay-outs from a single API-first platform.
  • It is best suited to online marketplaces, SaaS platforms and international ecommerce businesses processing significant cross-border volumes.
  • Pricing is custom-quoted. Indicative rates for standard UK card transactions start around 2.9% plus £0.20 per transaction, with negotiated rates available for higher volumes.
  • Rapyd offers no in-person card terminal product for UK merchants.
  • Compared with Stripe, Rapyd has broader global pay-out coverage but less transparent pricing and a more involved onboarding process.
  • Always request full disclosure of FX conversion margins and chargeback fees before agreeing a contract.
  • Rapyd Europe hf is the Iceland-based entity serving EEA merchants; Rapyd Financial Network Ltd serves UK merchants under FCA supervision.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Rapyd regulated in the UK?

Yes. Rapyd Financial Network Ltd is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority as an Electronic Money Institution. This means it can issue electronic money and provide payment services to UK businesses under FCA supervision, giving merchants a regulated counterparty rather than an unregulated third party.

What are Rapyd's fees for UK merchants?

Rapyd does not publish standard fees for UK merchants. Pricing is agreed during a sales conversation and depends on your monthly processing volume, payment methods and the countries you trade in. Indicative rates for standard UK and European Visa and Mastercard card transactions typically start around 2.9% plus £0.20 per transaction, with lower rates available for businesses processing above £100,000 a month.

How does Rapyd compare to Stripe for UK businesses?

Stripe publishes clear pricing at 1.5% plus 20p per transaction for European cards, making it easier to benchmark costs without a sales process. Rapyd's advantage is its broader global pay-out network and local payment method coverage in emerging markets. For most UK-only or European-focused businesses, Stripe is the simpler and more transparent starting point. See our full Rapyd vs Stripe comparison for a side-by-side breakdown.

Does Rapyd offer card terminals for UK in-person payments?

No. Rapyd does not offer a card terminal or point-of-sale hardware product for UK merchants. It is an online payment and pay-out platform. If you need to take face-to-face card payments, you will need to use a separate provider alongside Rapyd. Providers such as Dojo, Square or Zettle offer card machine options for UK businesses.

How long does settlement take with Rapyd in the UK?

Settlement typically takes one to three business days for UK merchants on a standard arrangement. Faster settlement may be available depending on your negotiated contract terms. You should confirm the exact settlement schedule with Rapyd during onboarding, as this can affect your cash flow, particularly if you run high daily transaction volumes.

Is Rapyd suitable for small businesses in the UK?

In most cases, no. Rapyd is designed for mid-market and enterprise businesses with significant cross-border payment needs and developer resource to manage an API integration. Small businesses wanting simple, transparent pricing and quick setup will typically find providers like Stripe, Square or SumUp better suited to their needs.

What is the Rapyd payment gateway?

The Rapyd payment gateway is an API-based tool that lets businesses accept online payments from cards, bank transfers and local payment methods across more than 100 countries. It supports hosted checkout pages and direct API integration, includes 3D Secure and Strong Customer Authentication, and connects to Rapyd's wider wallet and pay-out infrastructure.

What is Rapyd's monthly transaction volume?

Rapyd does not publish official monthly transaction volume figures. At the time of its $300 million Series E funding round in August 2021, Rapyd was processing billions of dollars annually across its global network. The company has grown since then, but no verified current monthly figure is publicly available. For UK merchants, the more relevant indicators of platform stability are Rapyd's FCA authorisation and its regulated entity structure in both the UK and EEA.

What is Rapyd Europe?

Rapyd Europe refers primarily to Rapyd Europe hf, Rapyd's Iceland-based regulated entity that holds an Electronic Money Institution licence under EEA rules, allowing it to serve merchants across EU member states. UK merchants are served separately by Rapyd Financial Network Ltd, which is authorised by the FCA. The two entities allow Rapyd to operate across both the UK and Europe post-Brexit from separate regulated structures.

Is Rapyd legit?

Yes, Rapyd is a legitimate and regulated payment platform. Rapyd Financial Network Ltd is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority as an Electronic Money Institution, which means it operates under UK regulatory oversight. The company has raised over $770 million in venture funding and processes payments for merchants across more than 100 countries. Mixed customer support reviews on Trustpilot are a genuine concern to weigh, but there is no question about the company's legitimacy or regulatory standing.

Does Rapyd have a card machine?

No. Rapyd does not offer a card machine or any in-person payment hardware for UK merchants. It is built entirely for online payment acceptance and pay-out use cases. If you need a card machine alongside an online payment gateway, you will need to source that from a separate provider such as Dojo, Square or SumUp.

Which providers are comparable to Rapyd for global pay-outs?

The closest alternatives to Rapyd for global pay-out infrastructure are Adyen, Checkout.com, Nuvei and Stripe Connect. Adyen offers interchange-plus pricing with strong European coverage. Checkout.com has custom pricing and deep coverage in the Middle East. Stripe Connect handles marketplace pay-outs with published pricing and faster onboarding. Nuvei suits high-risk and regulated sectors. The right choice depends on your target markets, monthly volume and whether you need card issuing alongside pay-outs.

What is Rapyd used for?

Rapyd is used by online businesses to collect payments from customers in multiple countries, hold funds in multiple currencies and send pay-outs to suppliers, contractors or marketplace sellers worldwide. Common use cases include marketplace platforms paying out to sellers, SaaS businesses billing international customers and fintech startups issuing branded payment cards to their own users. It is not used for in-person retail payments.

Trusted by 10,000+ UK Businesses

We’ve helped companies of all sizes, from local retailers to national ecommerce brands reduce their card processing fees without the hassle. Our clients process over £1 billion in payments annually through the UK’s leading providers.

Rated Excellent on Trustpilot

We’re proud of our reputation for honest, expert service. Check our latest reviews on Trustpilot to see why business owners trust Compare Card Fees.

No Sales Calls, No Pressure, Just Advice

We don’t share, sell, or misuse your information, ever. All enquiries are handled directly by our UK-based team. You’re in safe hands from the very first click.

Registered with the ICO (ZA666396)

Cut Your Card Fees, Get Expert Help