Cut Your Card Fees, Get Expert Help
We’re rated Excellent on:

Payzone for Business UK: Fees, Features and Honest Review (2026)
Updated August 2026
Compare Card Processing Rates & Save
Exclusive rates from 0.26%

Payzone is a UK card payment and retail services provider, owned by Post Office Limited since 2018. It operates across more than 24,000 partner store locations in the UK and offers countertop, portable and mobile card machines alongside a combined bill-payment and card acceptance device called Payzone Plus. The Payzone Plus terminal rents for £8.55 per week with no setup fee and no stated exit fee. Card transaction rates are not published. You must request a custom quote. Payzone is best suited to independent convenience retailers, newsagents and post office-style outlets that want card acceptance bundled with utility bill-payment collection in a single terminal. It is a direct competitor of PayPoint and is not affiliated with it in any way.
Key Takeaways
- Payzone Plus costs £8.55 per week and combines bill-payment collection with card acceptance in one device.
- Card transaction rates are not listed publicly. You must request a custom quote.
- No setup fees and no exit fees on the Payzone Plus product.
- Next-day settlement means funds reach your account the morning after each trading day.
- Businesses that only want card acceptance (no bill payments) are referred to Payzone's partner, takepayments.
- Payzone is a direct competitor of PayPoint. It is not owned by or affiliated with PayPoint.
- In 2021 Payzone replaced PayPoint at Tesco stores, having also won British Gas's payment business from PayPoint in 2019.
Key Facts: Payzone UK
| Detail | Information |
|---|---|
| Founded | Not confirmed. Sources conflict; current UK business owned by Post Office Limited since 2018 |
| Parent company | Post Office Limited |
| FCA registration | Operates under Post Office Limited's regulatory permissions; check the FCA register for current status |
| Typical transaction fee | Not publicly disclosed. Custom quotes provided on application |
| Payzone Plus weekly rental | £8.55 per week (combined bill-payment and card acceptance device) |
| Contract length | Typically 12 months; minimum monthly turnover clause may apply |
| Settlement speed | Next-day settlement to your bank account |
| Setup fee | None stated |
Who Is This Page For?
This page is for independent convenience store owners, newsagents, off-licence operators and anyone considering joining the Payzone retail network as a new partner. It is also useful for business owners who have received a Payzone quote and want to check whether the terms are competitive. If you are already a Payzone merchant looking to log in or find your nearest terminal, this is an independent review page rather than Payzone's own website.
Cafe, restaurant and tradesperson businesses are unlikely to find Payzone relevant. For those sectors, providers such as Dojo, takepayments or Square are worth considering instead.
What Is Payzone?
Payzone is a UK retail services network that allows independent stores to collect bill payments on behalf of utility companies and other service providers, whilst also accepting card payments from customers. The business is owned by Post Office Limited, which acquired it in 2018. It operates from over 24,000 partner locations across the UK, making it one of the largest retail bill-payment networks in the country alongside its direct competitor, PayPoint.
The term "Payzone" can refer to three related things: the retail partner network, the card machines the company supplies, or the Payzone Plus combined terminal. This page covers all three from the perspective of a retailer considering joining the network.
Payzone vs PayPoint: What Is the Difference?
Payzone and PayPoint are separate, competing businesses. They are not the same company and have no common ownership. Payzone is a subsidiary of Post Office Limited. PayPoint is an independently listed public company trading on the London Stock Exchange. Both offer retail bill-payment network services and card machines to independent stores, which is why the names are frequently confused.
The competitive rivalry between the two is well established. In 2019, Payzone won British Gas's payment business away from PayPoint. In 2021, Payzone replaced PayPoint at Tesco stores. Those contract wins shifted significant transaction volumes from one network to the other.
| Feature | Payzone | PayPoint |
|---|---|---|
| Ownership | Post Office Limited | Separately listed public company (LSE: PAY) |
| UK retail locations | 24,000+ | Around 28,000 (as of 2024) |
| Combined bill-payment and card terminal | Yes, via Payzone Plus | Yes, via PayPoint One |
| Card-only referral partner | takepayments | Own card machine product |
| Transaction rates published | No. Custom quote only | No. Custom quote only |
For a detailed side-by-side breakdown, see our PayPoint review.
Payzone Features
- Payzone Plus combined terminal: A single device that accepts card payments and collects bill payments for utilities and other services. It reduces the need for separate equipment on the counter.
- Three hardware options: Countertop (wired, fast receipt printing), portable (Bluetooth or WiFi, works up to around 50 metres from the base unit) and mobile (built-in SIM card using GPRS, works anywhere with a mobile signal).
- Broad card and contactless acceptance: Accepts Visa, Mastercard, Maestro, Apple Pay and Google Pay on all devices.
- Next-day settlement: Card takings settle to your nominated bank account the next business day.
- No setup fees: Payzone states no fees to join and no hidden fees at contract end.
- 24,000+ location network: Being part of Payzone's retail network can bring additional customer footfall from people who use the bill-payment service.
- Post Office backing: As a Post Office Limited subsidiary since 2018, Payzone has institutional support and an established UK supply chain for hardware and servicing.
- Card-only referral option: Businesses that do not need bill-payment functionality can be referred to takepayments for a standalone card machine and merchant account.
Payzone Fees and Pricing
Payzone publishes one confirmed price: the Payzone Plus device rental costs £8.55 per week. That works out to roughly £37 per month or £444.60 per year. There are no stated setup fees and no stated exit fees, which compares favourably to providers that charge hundreds of pounds to terminate a contract early.
Card transaction rates are not disclosed on the Payzone website. You will need to contact Payzone directly and request a custom quote. This is a genuine drawback. Without a published rate, it is impossible to compare Payzone's transaction costs against providers such as Paymentsense or takepayments without going through the sales process first. Always ask for the exact percentage rate per transaction for debit cards and credit cards separately, and confirm whether that rate applies to all card types including premium and corporate cards. For guidance on what to ask, see our article on how to compare card payment quotes without getting caught out.
Contracts are typically 12 months. A minimum monthly turnover clause is standard in this part of the industry. If your card volume drops significantly below the agreed threshold, you may face a shortfall fee. Read the contract carefully before signing. Ask the sales team to confirm the minimum volume figure in writing before you commit. Our guide to early termination fees in merchant contracts explains what to look for.
| Fee type | Payzone | Paymentsense | takepayments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Device rental (per week) | £8.55 (Payzone Plus) | Not publicly listed | Not publicly listed |
| Transaction rate | Custom quote only | Custom quote only | Custom quote only |
| Setup fee | None stated | Varies by contract | None stated |
| Settlement speed | Next day | Next day | Next day |
Because Payzone's transaction rates are undisclosed, the comparison above covers only confirmed public figures. Use it as a starting point, not a definitive cost analysis.
Payzone Services: What Can Retailers Offer Through the Network?
Payzone partner retailers can collect payments on behalf of a wide range of utility and service companies. The bill-payment service is a key reason independent convenience stores join the network, as it drives footfall and provides a modest commission income on each transaction processed.
Services available through the Payzone network typically include:
- Gas and electricity bill payments (including British Gas, which switched from PayPoint to Payzone in 2019)
- Water bill payments for participating utility providers
- Prepaid energy meter top-ups
- Prepaid mobile phone top-ups
- Cash top-ups for certain prepaid cards
- Council tax and local authority payment collection (varies by partnership agreements)
- Insurance premium collection for participating providers
The specific range of services available at any given Payzone outlet depends on the partnerships Payzone holds at the time. Not every service listed above is available at every location. Contact Payzone directly to confirm which payment types your store could process under a current partner agreement.
Payzone Terminal Options
Payzone offers three card machine form factors. The right choice depends on whether your shop has a fixed counter, a front-of-house service area where staff move around, or a need to take payments away from the premises entirely.
- Countertop terminal: Connects via broadband or a phone line. Suited to shops with a fixed till point. Produces printed receipts quickly and has no battery to manage.
- Portable terminal: Connects via Bluetooth or WiFi. Works up to around 50 metres from the base unit, which suits small shops where the card machine needs to move between a counter and a separate serving area.
- Mobile terminal: Uses a built-in SIM card over a GPRS mobile data connection. Works anywhere with a mobile signal. Suited to outdoor stalls, markets or delivery-based businesses that need to take payments on the move.
The Payzone Plus combined terminal integrates bill-payment collection with card acceptance in a single device. It is the flagship product for convenience retailers and is the model most Payzone partner stores use.
Payzone Merchant Services: Customer Reviews
Independent reviews of Payzone as a merchant services provider are mixed. Positive feedback tends to focus on the simplicity of the Payzone Plus terminal and the convenience of combining bill payments with card acceptance in one device. Retailers who were previously running separate systems report that the combined terminal reduces daily reconciliation time.
Negative reviews commonly mention two issues. The first is difficulty reaching customer support quickly during busy periods, a meaningful concern for a convenience store that cannot process payments during a terminal fault. The second is the lack of pricing transparency, which some merchants say left them feeling unprepared when they later compared their rates against competitors. If you are considering Payzone, request a formal written quote and cross-reference it against at least one other provider before signing. Our guide to negotiating card processing fees may help you prepare.
Does Payzone Offer Online Payments?
Payzone does not offer a standalone ecommerce payment gateway for online stores. The product range is focused entirely on in-store transactions through the Payzone Plus terminal and the three card machine variants. If you sell online as well as in-store, you will need a separate payment gateway provider for your website. Providers such as Opayo, Stripe or PayPal offer ecommerce gateway products that could sit alongside a Payzone in-store terminal. See our guide to the best payment gateways for UK businesses for a full comparison.
Some searches for "Payzone online payments" or "can I pay Payzone online" relate to consumers wanting to pay a bill at a Payzone outlet rather than merchants seeking an online gateway. If you are a consumer looking to pay a bill, you will need to visit a Payzone partner store. Payzone does not offer a consumer-facing online payment portal for bill settlement.
TP Ltd and Payzone: What Is the Connection?
Some merchants see "TP Ltd" or "TP Ltd / Payzone" on their bank statements and are unsure what it refers to. TP Ltd is the legal entity name for takepayments, Payzone's referral partner for card-only merchant accounts. If you were referred from Payzone to takepayments for a standalone card machine, your statement descriptors and contract counterparty may reflect takepayments rather than Payzone. The two businesses are separate legal entities. Payzone handles bill-payment network membership; takepayments handles the card merchant account for retailers who do not need the combined Payzone Plus terminal. For a full breakdown of takepayments' own fees and contracts, see our takepayments review.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Combined bill-payment and card acceptance in one device, which is genuinely useful for convenience retailers and reduces counter equipment.
- No setup fees and no stated exit fees on the Payzone Plus product.
- Next-day settlement to your bank account.
- Accepts all major card types and digital wallets including Apple Pay and Google Pay.
- Three hardware form factors (countertop, portable, mobile) to suit different shop layouts and trading environments.
- Part of a 24,000-location UK network, which can bring additional customer footfall from bill-payment users.
Cons
- Transaction rates are not published. You cannot compare costs without going through a sales call, which puts you at a negotiating disadvantage if you are unprepared.
- The product is built around convenience retail. Businesses outside that sector, such as hospitality, tradespeople and online sellers, will find little here that suits them.
- A 12-month contract with a minimum turnover clause means lower-volume months could trigger additional charges. Get the exact threshold figure in writing before signing.
- Customer reviews on independent platforms are mixed, with some merchants reporting difficulties reaching support quickly during busy periods.
- No ecommerce payment gateway is offered. If you sell online as well as in-store, you will need a separate provider for your website.
Is Payzone Right for Your Business?
Payzone makes most sense for independent convenience retailers who already handle, or want to handle, bill payments for utilities and services. The combined Payzone Plus terminal at £8.55 per week is a straightforward proposition. Next-day settlement and zero setup costs are genuine advantages. The lack of published transaction rates is a real transparency issue, and you should not sign anything until you have compared the custom quote against at least two other providers.
For businesses purely looking for card acceptance with no bill payments and no combined device, Payzone's own website points you toward takepayments as a referral partner. That is an honest acknowledgement from Payzone itself that its core product is not the right fit for every merchant. Competitors such as Paymentsense and Dojo are worth examining if you want a card-only terminal with more transparent published pricing.
How Compare Card Fees Can Help
Compare Card Fees is a free, independent advisory service that has helped UK businesses find better card payment deals since 2012. If you have received a quote from Payzone and want to check whether it is competitive, or if you want to compare Payzone Plus against other providers before committing, our team can run that comparison for you at no cost and with no obligation. Compare merchant services quotes here and see whether you could pay less per transaction or get a better contract term.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Payzone?
Payzone is a UK retail bill-payment and card acceptance network owned by Post Office Limited. It allows independent convenience stores, newsagents and similar outlets to collect bill payments on behalf of utility companies and other service providers, whilst also accepting debit and credit card payments from customers. The flagship product is Payzone Plus, a combined terminal that handles both functions in one device for £8.55 per week.
What is a Payzone card machine?
A Payzone card machine is a payment terminal that accepts Visa, Mastercard, Maestro, Apple Pay and Google Pay. Payzone offers three types: a countertop model connected via broadband or phone line, a portable model with Bluetooth or WiFi that works up to around 50 metres from its base, and a mobile model with a built-in SIM card for use anywhere with a mobile signal. The flagship product, Payzone Plus, combines card acceptance with bill-payment collection in a single device.
How much does Payzone cost in the UK?
The Payzone Plus combined device costs £8.55 per week to rent, which is around £444.60 per year. There is no setup fee. Card transaction rates are not published and are provided as a custom quote. You must contact Payzone directly to get a figure. Always request the per-transaction rate in writing before signing, and ask specifically about rates for credit cards versus debit cards.
Does Payzone charge a fee?
Yes, Payzone charges a weekly rental fee of £8.55 for the Payzone Plus terminal, and a per-transaction fee on card payments. The transaction rate is not published and is quoted individually based on your business type and volume. There is no stated setup fee and no stated exit fee on the Payzone Plus product. A 12-month contract with a minimum monthly turnover clause is typical, so lower-volume months could trigger additional charges if you fall below the agreed threshold.
Is Payzone the same as PayPoint?
No. Payzone and PayPoint are separate, competing companies. Payzone is owned by Post Office Limited. PayPoint is a separately listed public company on the London Stock Exchange. The two businesses compete directly for retail bill-payment and card acceptance contracts across the UK. In 2019, Payzone won British Gas's payment business from PayPoint. In 2021, Payzone replaced PayPoint at Tesco stores.
What is the difference between Payzone and PayPoint?
The key differences are ownership, scale and product focus. Payzone is owned by Post Office Limited and operates from over 24,000 UK locations; PayPoint is an independently listed public company with around 28,000 locations. Both offer combined bill-payment and card terminals to independent retailers. PayPoint has a slightly larger network and its own card machine product; Payzone refers card-only merchants to its partner takepayments. Neither publishes transaction rates openly.
How does Payzone compare to Paymentsense?
Payzone and Paymentsense both offer card machines on custom-quoted transaction rates with 12-month contracts. Payzone's main differentiator is the Payzone Plus combined bill-payment and card acceptance terminal, which Paymentsense does not offer. Paymentsense focuses purely on card acceptance and tends to attract merchants who have no need for bill-payment functionality. If you do not need bill-payment collection, Paymentsense is worth comparing directly. See our Paymentsense review for more detail.
What is Payzone Plus?
Payzone Plus is a combined terminal that collects bill payments on behalf of utility and service companies whilst also accepting card payments from customers. It costs £8.55 per week to rent with no setup fee. It is Payzone's primary product for independent convenience retailers and is the reason most businesses approach Payzone rather than a card-only provider.
How fast does Payzone settle funds?
Payzone offers next-day settlement, meaning card takings from one trading day are deposited into your nominated bank account the following business day. This is standard among the major UK card machine providers and means you are not waiting several days for funds to clear.
Can I use Payzone if I only want a card machine and not bill payments?
Payzone itself acknowledges that Payzone Plus is not right for every business. If you only want card acceptance and have no need for bill-payment collection, Payzone's website refers enquiries to its partner takepayments. Takepayments offers standalone card machines with its own pricing and contract terms, separate from Payzone's own product range.
What services can I offer through Payzone?
As a Payzone partner retailer, you can typically collect payments for gas and electricity bills, prepaid energy meter top-ups, mobile phone top-ups, and payments for other participating utility and service providers. The exact range depends on Payzone's current partner agreements. British Gas switched its bill-payment collection to Payzone from PayPoint in 2019, making Payzone a key collection point for British Gas customers. Contact Payzone directly to confirm which services are available under a current partner agreement.
Does Payzone offer online payments?
No. Payzone does not offer a standalone ecommerce payment gateway. The product range covers in-store transactions only, through the Payzone Plus combined terminal and the three card machine variants. If you sell online as well as in-store, you will need a separate payment gateway from a provider such as Stripe, Opayo or PayPal. See our guide to the best UK payment gateways for a comparison.
What does TP Ltd / Payzone mean on a bank statement?
TP Ltd on a bank statement typically refers to takepayments, the card-only merchant services provider that Payzone uses as a referral partner. If you were directed from Payzone to takepayments for a standalone card machine, your statement descriptor and contract counterparty may show TP Ltd rather than Payzone. The two businesses are separate legal entities. Check your original contract to confirm which company you are contracted with.
What is a Payzone terminal?
A Payzone terminal is the physical card machine supplied to Payzone partner retailers. The Payzone Plus terminal is the combined model that handles both card payments and utility bill-payment collection. Payzone also supplies countertop, portable and mobile card machines for retailers who need a specific hardware format. All models accept Visa, Mastercard, Maestro, Apple Pay and Google Pay.
Who are Payzone's main competitors?
Payzone's main competitor in the retail bill-payment network space is PayPoint. For card-only acceptance, competitors include takepayments (Payzone's own referral partner), Paymentsense, Dojo and Handepay. None of these offer the combined bill-payment and card acceptance terminal that Payzone Plus provides, which is the product's clearest point of difference for convenience retailers.
Updated August 2026.
Trusted by 10,000+ UK Businesses
We’ve helped companies of all sizes, from local retailers to national ecommerce brands reduce their card processing fees without the hassle. Our clients process over £1 billion in payments annually through the UK’s leading providers.
Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
We’re proud of our reputation for honest, expert service. Check our latest reviews on Trustpilot to see why business owners trust Compare Card Fees.
No Sales Calls, No Pressure, Just Advice
We don’t share, sell, or misuse your information, ever. All enquiries are handled directly by our UK-based team. You’re in safe hands from the very first click.
Registered with the ICO (ZA666396)
